06.04.21—08.06.21
Lieu: ARGOS website + ARGOS window display

Activating Captions

exposition
Christine Sun Kim and Niels Van Tomme, Captions we came across throughout our research and that intrigued us, surprised us, or made us laugh (2021) © the curators

Description de l'image: diverses images avec légendes sur fond blanc. Les légendes se lisent de haut en bas à gauche: “My IQ level is Gucci.”, “O why?”, “[Roar of vehicles]”, “[ SINGING IN KOREAN] / [SINGING IN KOREAN ] / [ SINGING IN KOREAN ]”, “[ominous atmospheric wooshing]”, “[the sound of sun entering the bedroom]”, “[Interpreters at work]”, “american audiences / subtitles”, “[clap] [clap] [clap] [clap] [clap]”.


Remarque: il s'agit d'une exposition essentiellement en ligne. Pour visiter le projet: ici.

Ce printemps, ARGOS présente Activating Captions, une plateforme en ligne et une vitrine physique qui s'intéresse de manière critique au sous-titrage en tant que forme d'expression artistique singulière. Le projet comprend des vidéos d'artistes, des textes nouvellement commandés et une intervention spécifique de l'artiste visuelle Shannon Finnegan sur la façade du bâtiment ARGOS.

Traditionnellement, le sous-titrage est le processus qui consiste à convertir le contenu audio d'un film, d'une vidéo, d'une émission de télévision ou d'un événement en direct en texte et à afficher ce texte sur un écran, un moniteur ou un autre système d'affichage visuel. Les sous-titres ne se contentent pas de visualiser les mots parlés, ils comprennent également l'identification du locuteur, les effets sonores et la description de la musique. Elles sont essentielles pour les sourds et les malentendants, ainsi que pour de nombreuses autres personnes, comme celles qui apprennent une nouvelle langue ou celles qui regardent les sous-titres pour des raisons de commodité.

Ces dernières années, cependant, un certain nombre d'artistes ont adopté une approche plus active du sous-titrage. Ces artistes cherchent de nouvelles façons de mettre en évidence et de défaire les défauts et les insuffisances de cet outil visuel lorsqu'il est utilisé dans des contextes culturels et artistiques pop. Ils ont utilisé le sous-titrage pour souligner la capacité limitée de ce système à rendre la culture audiovisuelle suffisamment accessible. Entre leurs mains, le sous-titrage - au lieu d'être un support qui communique directement des informations - devient un site génératif à plusieurs niveaux pour des interventions critiques, poétiques et/ou humoristiques qui explorent en même temps sa valeur esthétique.

Activating Captions présente le travail d'artistes pour qui la vidéo constitue un cadre important pour expérimenter le sous-titrage. Il introduit en outre de nouvelles formes de médias qui remettent en question l'hypothèse selon laquelle la production audiovisuelle est compréhensible pour tous. Ce faisant, Activating Captions souligne la nature intrinsèquement exclusive de la culture audiovisuelle, ainsi que sa relation avec les langues écrites, et imagine pour elle un nouvel avenir, plus extensible.

Les artistes : Alex Dolores Salerno, Alison O'Daniel, Amalle Dublon & Constantina Zavitsanos, Eduardo Andres Crespo, Carolyn Lazard, Jordan Lord, Liza Sylvestre, Park McArthur & Constantina Zavitsanos, Shannon Finnegan

Les écrivains : Aline Remael, Andrew Fisher, Ariel Baker-Gibbs, Emily Watlington, Grégory Castéra, Niels Van Tomme, Raymond Antrobus, Sara Novic

Les conservateurs : Christine Sun Kim, Niels Van Tomme

Location:
argosarts.org/activatingcaptions

+
Fenêtre d'affichage ARGOS
62 Rue des Commerçants
1000 Bruxelles

Activating Captions est organisé par ARGOS à Bruxelles et est rendu possible grâce au soutien de la Loterie Nationale et de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale.

06.04.21—01.06.21
Location: ARGOS website + ARGOS window display

Activating Captions

exhibition
Christine Sun Kim and Niels Van Tomme, Captions we came across throughout our research and that intrigued us, surprised us, or made us laugh (2021) © the curators

Image description: various images with captions on white background. The captions read from top left to bottom right: “My IQ level is Gucci.”, “O why?”, “[Roar of vehicles]”, “[ SINGING IN KOREAN] / [SINGING IN KOREAN ] / [ SINGING IN KOREAN ]”, “[ominous atmospheric wooshing]”, “[the sound of sun entering the bedroom]”, “[Interpreters at work]”, “american audiences / subtitles”, “[clap] [clap] [clap] [clap] [clap]”.

This spring ARGOS presents Activating Captions, an online platform and physical window display that critically engages with captioning as a singular artistic form of expression. The project features artists' videos, newly commissioned texts, and a site-specific intervention by visual artist Shannon Finnegan on the façade of the ARGOS building.

Traditionally, captioning is the process of converting the audio content of a film, video, television programme, or live event into text and displaying this text on a screen, monitor, or other visual display system. Captions not only visualise spoken words, they also include speaker identification, sound effects, and music description. They are essential for the Deaf and hard-of-hearing, as well as numerous others, such as people who are learning a new language or those who watch captions for convenience reasons.

In recent years, however, a number of artists have taken a more active approach to captioning. These artists are searching for new ways to highlight and undo the shortcomings and inadequacies of this visual tool when employed in pop cultural and artistic contexts. They have been using captions to underscore this system's limited capacity to sufficiently make audiovisual culture accessible. In their hands, captioning – instead of a medium that straightforwardly communicates information – becomes a multi-layered, generative site for critical, poetic, and/or humorous interventions that at the same time explores its aesthetic value.

Activating Captions presents the work of artists for whom video proves an important setting to experiment with captioning. It additionally introduces new forms of media that question the assumption that audiovisual output is comprehensible for everyone. In doing so, Activating Captions underscores audiovisual culture's inherently exclusive nature, as well as its relationship to written languages, and imagines a new, more expandable future for it.

Artists: Alex Dolores Salerno, Alison O'Daniel, Amalle Dublon & Constantina Zavitsanos, Eduardo Andres Crespo, Carolyn Lazard, Jordan Lord, Liza Sylvestre, Park McArthur & Constantina Zavitsanos, Shannon Finnegan

Writers: Aline Remael, Andrew Fisher, Ariel Baker-Gibbs, Emily Watlington, Grégory Castéra, Raymond Antrobus, Sara Novic

Curators: Christine Sun Kim, Niels Van Tomme

Activating Captions is organised by ARGOS centre for audiovisual arts in Brussels and is made possible with the support of the Nationale Loterij / Loterie Nationale and Brussels-Capital Region.