03.10.20—20.12.20
Lieu: ARGOS + Horta Hall

Tony Cokes: If UR Reading This It’s 2 Late, Vol. 3

exposition
Tony Cokes, Evil.16 (Torture.Musik), 2009-2011. Courtesy Greene Naftali Gallery, New York, Hannah Hoffman Gallery, Los Angeles, and Electronic Arts Intermix, New York

Veuillez faire une réservation au bas de cette page pour visiter cette exposition!

Cet automne, ARGOS accueille If UR Reading This It's 2 Late, Vol. 3, la première exposition solo majeure de l'artiste afro-américain Tony Cokes en Belgique. Dans son travail, Cokes réunit à la fois l'image, le texte et le son. En résulte une œuvre vidéo étonnante, dans laquelle les questions de vérité, de justice sociale et de capitalisme sont centrales.

If UR Reading This It's 2 Late, Vol. 3 présente le travail de Tony Cokes sur la musique pop et électronique. C’est ainsi que l’exposition, intitulée d’après une mixtape de Drake, met l'accent sur le “mélange” présent dans son travail. Il le fait en citant plusieurs auteurs, d’Aretha Franklin à Morrissey, en passant par Malcolm X et Louis Althusser. Et en réunissant le texte, l'image et le son, il crée ainsi un message puissant. Un qui pousse à l’analyse et à la réflexion!

Co-organisé par le Goldsmiths Centre for Contemporary Art (28.09.2019-12.01.2020) et le Carpenter Center for the Visual Arts de l'Université de Harvard (30.01-12.04.2020).

À quoi peut-on s’attendre?

L'exposition n’est pas limitée au sein des quatre murs d’ARGOS! Trois lieux sont prévus. À ARGOS, une série de vidéos de l’artiste sera exposée au côté de deux œuvres récemment commissionnées. Les vidéos de l'exposition seront également présentées dans une nouvelle vitrine au 62 de la Koopliedenstraat. Dans l'espace public, une vidéo sur les manifestations actuelles de Black Lives Matter sera diffusée dans la galerie Horta au cœur de Bruxelles (en collaboration avec le night-club bruxellois C12). En outre, des visites guidées spéciales sont régulièrement programmées, et le 17 octobre, nous invitons Tony Cokes et Steve Goodman à parler de leur travail commun. La première monographie de Tony Cokes, dont 50% du prix de vente sera reversé au "Belgian Network for Black Lives", sera également disponible.


Tony Cokes:
If UR Reading This It’s 2 Late, Vol. 3

ARGOS
13 Rue du Chantier
62 Rue des Commerçants
1000 Bruxelles

Entrée: ici.

Tony Cokes:
Evil.80.Empathy?

Horta Hall
116 Rue du Marché Aux Herbes
1000 Bruxelles

Entrée libre.


L’ARTISTE :

Tony Cokes vit et travaille à Providence, Rhode Island, où il est enseigne au département de la culture moderne et des médias à la Brown University. Ses œuvres ont été exposées à la Documenta X à Kassel, le Whitney Museum of American Art à New York, la Whitechapel Gallery à Londres, l'Institute of Contemporary Art à Philadelphie, la 10e Biennale de Berlin, le New Museum à New York, REDCAT à Los Angeles et le Louvre à Paris. Les œuvres de Cokes font partie des collections du MoMA à New York, du Centre Pompidou à Paris, du Hammer Museum à Los Angeles, du SF MoMA à San Francisco et du Carnegie Museum à Pittsburgh, entre autres. Il a reçu des subventions et des bourses de la Fondation Rockefeller, de la Fondation Guggenheim, du National Endowment for the Arts, du New York State Council for the Arts, de la New York Foundation for the Arts et du Getty Research Institute.

03.10.20—20.12.20
Location: ARGOS + Horta Hall

Tony Cokes: If UR Reading This It’s 2 Late, Vol. 3

exhibition
Tony Cokes, Evil.16 (Torture.Musik), 2009-2011. Courtesy Greene Naftali Gallery, New York, Hannah Hoffman Gallery, Los Angeles, and Electronic Arts Intermix, New York

Please make a reservation to visit this exhibition below!

This fall ARGOS presents If UR Reading This It's 2 Late, Vol. 3, the first comprehensive solo exhibition by the American artist Tony Cokes in Belgium. In his work, Cokes brings together image, text and sound. This results in thought-provoking video art centered around questions of truth, social justice, and capitalism.

If UR Reading This It's 2 Late, Vol. 3 shows Cokes’ works on pop and electronic music. The exhibition is named after a Drake mixtape, which underscores the ‘mixing’ in Cokes’ art. The artist does so by quoting various authors: from Aretha Franklin to Morrissey, from Malcolm X to Louis Althusser. By bringing together text, image and sound, he creates a powerful message. One that initiates analysis and reflection!

Co-organised by Goldsmiths Centre for Contemporary Art (28.09.2019–12.01.2020) and Carpenter Center for the Visual Arts at Harvard University (30.01–12.04.2020).

To read or download the exhibition brochure, go here, or the transcripts of all videos in the exhibition in EN–FR–NL, here.


What can you expect?

The exhibition is not limited to ARGOS' four walls! The project unfolds on three locations. At ARGOS, a series of videos by Tony Cokes will be shown, as well as two newly commissioned artworks. The videos will also be broadcast in a recently opened window display at the Koopliedenstraat 62. In addition to this, you can see a video in the heart of Brussels about the current Black Lives Matter protests, installed in public space in the Horta Hall (in collaboration with the Brussels nightclub C12). Furthermore, special guided tours are regularly scheduled, and on October 17th we invite Tony Cokes and Steve Goodman to talk about their work. The first monograph of Tony Cokes is also available. 50% of the sales price will be donated to ‘Belgian Network for Black Lives’.


Tony Cokes:
If UR Reading This It’s 2 Late, Vol. 3

ARGOS
Werfstraat 13 Rue du Chantier
Koopliedenstraat 62 Rue des Commerçants
1000 Brussels

Entrance fee: here.

Tony Cokes:
Evil.80.Empathy?

Horta Hall
Grasmarkt 116 Rue du Marché Aux Herbes
1000 Brussels

Entrance: free.

The artist:

Tony Cokes lives and works in Providence, Rhode Island, where he serves as Professor in the Department of Modern Culture and Media at Brown University. Exhibitions include Documenta X in Kassel, the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York, Whitechapel Gallery in London, the Institute of Contemporary Art in Philadelphia, the 10th Berlin Biennale, the New Museum in New York, REDCAT in Los Angeles, and the Louvre in Paris. Cokes’ work is included in the collections of MoMA in New York, the Centre Pompidou in Paris, the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles, SF MoMA in San Francisco, and the Carnegie Museum in Pittsburgh, among many others. He has received grants and fellowships from the Rockefeller Foundation, the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, the New York State Council for the Arts, the New York Foundation for the Arts, and the Getty Research Institute.


Please make a reservation: