12.02.22—01.05.22
Lieu: argos

Alexander Kluge: Minutenfilme #3

exposition
Galaxy Song (2021) © the artist(s)

Cette exposition alternera cinq séries de films du grand réalisateur allemand Alexander Kluge pendant un an. Chaque programme, compilé pour cette occasion par le réalisateur, présentera une sélection de huit Minutenfilme, courts métrages hybrides dont la durée ne dépasse que rarement les huit minutes. Il y présente un commentaire ironique sur les événements historiques et contemporains, en s’inspirant d’opéra, de cosmologie ou de mathématiques.

Alexander Kluge développe, avec ses Minutenfilme, une méthode de réalisation singulière qui permet de condenser des idées complexes en quelques minutes. Le réalisateur a pour cela recours à un montage atypique, qui rassemble images et sons provenant d’une multitude de sources et de collaborateurs différents. Kluge met ainsi le rôle du spectateur au centre : "Les spectateurs sont le dispositif. Ce qu'ils ne peuvent imaginer ne peut donc pas exister à travers le dispositif".

--

a propos de l'artiste

Alexander Kluge (1932) est écrivain, essayiste, auteur de romans, pionnier de la télévision et cinéaste de renom. Après avoir assisté Fritz Lang sur le tournage du film Le Tigre du Bengale en 1959, il est devenu l'un des représentants les plus éminents du Nouveau Cinéma Allemand. Ses Minutenfilme sont en lien étroit avec ses films plus longs, comme News from Ideological Antiquity - Marx/Eisenstein/The Capital (2008) et Dancing With Pictures (2017) qui durent neuf à dix heures.

plus d'information

www.kluge-alexander.de - www.dctp.tv

--

Minutenfilme #3:

Galaxy song (2021) 02:38

Katharina Grosse, Stage No. 1: “Le cosmos comme hétérotopie” (2020) 02:55

Ich steh’ mit einem Fuß im Grabe (I have one foot in the grave) (2020) 02:50

Das Wüste toben in Kosmos, Wald Mathematik (The wild raging in cosmos, forest and mathematics) (2020) 02:38

Notre Dame / “Douleur me bat” (2019) 01:37

Christoph Schlingensief und der Specht (Christoph Schlingensief and the woodpecker) (2020) 01:25

Glücklicher Zufall eines Lesefehlers (Lucky coincidence of a reading error) (2021) 02:34

Transition 2 (2020) 08:39

12.02.22—01.05.22
Location: argos

Alexander Kluge: Minutenfilme #3

exhibition
Galaxy Song (2021) © the artist(s)

This year-long, rotating exhibition presents five sequential constellations of eight films each by the eminent German director Alexander Kluge. Compiled by Kluge especially for this occasion, these presentations feature selections of recent Minutenfilme – short, hybrid films that typically run from one to eight minutes each. Ranging from the theoretical to the operatic, from the cosmic to the mathematical, Kluge offers an often ironic yet candid social commentary on historical and contemporary events.

In his Minutenfilme, Alexander Kluge has developed a single-minded way of filmmaking in which complex ideas are condensed into a few minutes. To achieve this, the director uses highly idiosyncratic ways of editing in which a plethora of images and sounds are brought together from a wide variety of sources and collaborators. In so doing, Kluge imagines an active role for the viewer: “The viewers are the medium, what they cannot imagine neither can exist in the medium.”

--

about the artist

Alexander Kluge (1932) is a German writer of non-fiction and fiction, a leading filmmaker, television pioneer, and public intellectual. After assisting Fritz Lang on Der Tiger von Eschnapur (1959), he subsequently became one of the most prominent representatives of the New German Cinema. His Minutenfilme correspond with films of nine to ten hours length, such as News from Ideological Antiquity – Marx/Eisenstein/The Capital(2008) and Dancing With Pictures (2017).

more information

www.kluge-alexander.de - www.dctp.tv

--

Minutenfilme #3:

Galaxy song (2021) 02:38

Katharina Grosse, Stage No. 1: “Le cosmos comme hétérotopie” (2020) 02:55

Ich steh’ mit einem Fuß im Grabe (I have one foot in the grave) (2020) 02:50

Das Wüste toben in Kosmos, Wald Mathematik (The wild raging in cosmos, forest and mathematics) (2020) 02:38

Notre Dame / “Douleur me bat” (2019) 01:37

Christoph Schlingensief und der Specht (Christoph Schlingensief and the woodpecker) (2020) 01:25

Glücklicher Zufall eines Lesefehlers (Lucky coincidence of a reading error) (2021) 02:34

Transition 2 (2020) 08:39